TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

 

I’m back with another TokyoTreat review! May’s theme is anime, as a play on the somewhat recent Ani-May trend a lot of websites and stores like to participate in.

Since I’m a fan of a decent amount of anime series, I was very excited to try this box out!

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

Boruto Pineapple Jellies

First up is an individually wrapped pineapple flavored jelly snack featuring characters from Boruto on the lids.

I have to disclose that I’ve had a very similar snack before in a Skoshbox and I really disliked it. The texture was really … wet and slimy.

Unfortunately, these are exactly the same as the ones I had before. Wet, slimy, and personally unpleasant. The taste is fine, a pineapple candy flavor, but the texture is just so off-putting to me that I could only have the one I opened and the one my boyfriend couldn’t even finish.

No offense if you like these, but I never seem to. It’s disappointing since they’re popular in Japan.

Rating: 1/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

Splatoon Gummies

Technically, Splatoon isn’t an anime, but it’s a video game series from Japan so it still works for this box’s theme.

This snack is a gummy candy shaped like squids and octopuses (up until this very moment I thought the plural of octopus was octopi, seriously. Google proved me wrong!).

While this is miles more pleasant than the Boruto jellies, this treat is just a bit too difficult for me to chew. Thing is, I do have jaw problems, so it’s kind of unfair of me to judge them that way. They taste fine, though I really can’t identify the flavor. The mold for the gummies is well detailed, as well, which is nice.

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

I’m giving them a 5/5 since I could probably chew them with more ease if I didn’t suffer from jaw problems.

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

Sriracha Rice Chips

I’m not a big fan of spice. I’ve tried Sriracha once, because I really wanted to know what the hype was about, but it ended up being a bit too spicy for me. The taste was fine, though, so I wish I could have handled it better.

That being said, these are Sriracha and sesame rice chips, and while they can pick up spice after eating a few, they’re not too bad. They have a very pleasant taste, and the sesame works well with the Sriracha. The texture is somewhat light and forgiving, encouraging you to eat more than you probably should in one go.

I still just can’t do Sriracha on its own.

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

Umaibo Mentaiko

This is a creamy salted pollock roe flavored Umaibo. I really feel like I’ve had this Umaibo before, but maybe it was a similar variety. Either way, it isn’t unpleasant at all.

The snack itself is greasy, both in appearance and feel, but the taste isn’t really the same. It’s sweet, and gives off a slight seafood flavor that I probably wouldn’t have picked up on if the booklet didn’t tell me what it was supposed to taste like. It isn’t bad, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to purchase it later.

Rating: 4/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

Don Taro Udon Snack

These are small dried noodles flavored like udon broth that you snack on out of the bag.

They actually really taste as they should, and their texture is crunchy, like a dried noodle. The only complaint I have about them is that they get very salty very quickly, so I wouldn’t advise eating the whole bag in one go.

They do taste nice, though!

Rating: 4.5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

Thomas the Tank Engine Chewy Candy

Thomas the Tank Engine isn’t an anime! That was seriously what I thought when I saw this in the box.  (I admit, I Googled to see if there was an anime based on this, but there isn’t.)

That being said, this is a pleasant taffy-like grape chewy candy wrapped like gum, featuring Thomas and friends on the wrapper.

There isn’t much to say about it — the flavor is the same artificial grape flavor I’ve tasted in quite a few Japanese candies, but I find it enjoyable.

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

Edamame Snack Share Pack

The booklet said these were reminiscent of Senzu Beans from Dragonball. I suppose they could be, so they fit in the box.

These are a snack I’ve had before, but I like them a lot. They’re like crackers, but they taste like edamame with some savory seasoning on them. The fiery icon on the bag doesn’t mean they’re spicy, because they’re not at all.

Trust me, I am sensitive to spice, so I would know, haha.

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

Shin-Chan Chocobi Almond Tofu Corn Puff

Shin-Chan is a very popular series in Japan. I’ve never seen it, but I’ve heard of it.

This is a simple corn puff snack flavored like sweet almond. The pack comes with a sticker, too.

The snack itself is really tasty. Sweet, light, and crispy. I liked these a lot!

Oh, and FYI — eat ALL of these in one sitting or make sure you put them in a Ziploc bag! They get stale very fast, as I found out. 🙁

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review May 2018

One Piece Bubbly Jelly DIY

This is the treat I was most excited for in this box. I love One Piece, and this is a melon flavored sweet snack featuring One Piece characters on the plastic cup.

The treat requires some preparation before you can enjoy it, but the instructions are simple. Adding water with the first powder, having it sit in the fridge, and mixing the second powder is about all it takes.

The taste is pretty much what you’d expect from a sweet melon snack. It’s very strong, but not unpleasant, and the addition of the second powder allows for the top to be light and foamy, almost reminiscent of a root beer float.

I was lucky enough to get the cup I wanted, as well! It makes a great bathroom cup since it’s made of a pretty sturdy plastic.

Rating: 5/5

VERDICT: This box was very nice, even if I personally disliked the jellies. I know others would love them, and there were a lot in the bag, so I feel like the value was there. Everything else was great, and the One Piece treat was fun to make.

Interested in trying TokyoTreat out for yourself? A classic box, like what I have reviewed here, is available for $25 on TokyoTreat’s page.  A premium option is also available for a little more.

Leave a Comment