TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

 

The last few months have been a bit hectic in terms of receiving Skoshboxes on time and with all of the snacks (because of the US customs facility my packages go through). The solution to that was to cancel, and even though I had been a subscriber for three or so years, I figured it was for the best.

After doing some research on other Japanese snack boxes, I settled on TokyoTreat at $25 a month. I went ahead and subscribed for three months, so I’ll be reviewing them until June, when I’ll decide whether to continue subscribing or not. (I probably will, though?)

The main difference between TokyoTreat and Skoshbox is the size of the basic, or classic box. The classic TokyoTreat contains a decent bit more than the small Skoshbox, so this review will be longer than previous.

As you can see in the header image, TokyoTreat provides you with a booklet in each box. I really missed booklets! They’re informative, and they help you know what you’re getting into. Since these snacks have little to no English on them, a booklet kind of makes the box for me. I much prefer having one instead of being told to just go on a website.

Anyway, let’s begin!

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

Choco Banana DIY Kit

This is a very amusing item to receive in my first TokyoTreat box. Why? Well, it happened to be included in the very first Skoshbox I ever had, years ago. I didn’t write about boxes back then, so I can’t show any pictures but it’s still kind of funny.

The snack itself is simple — you take the enclosed wooden pick and grab a yellow log, dip it in the chocolate, and roll it into the sprinkles.

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

See? Simple. The yellow candy tastes a lot like banana runts, which I love, but some people find them less than pleasant. The chocolate tastes a lot like cake frosting, and the sprinkles are just sprinkles. Nothing special there.

I like this because I love banana runts, and it’s kind of cute. The candy doesn’t look like a banana, but that’s not a big deal.

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

Tohato Caramel Corn

This is a corn puff that tastes a lot like caramel corn. There isn’t a whole lot to say about them, but they’re very tasty.

Each TokyoTreat box comes with a “share pack” of a snack, and this was April’s. “Share pack” means you receive multiple small bags of the snack. I liked that this was the chosen “share pack” because it’s light, tasty, and pretty fun to eat. They’re not too sweet, either, so you might be tempted to have a second bag when you’re done.

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

Don Tacos Grilled Corn Flavor

I have never heard of Don Tacos before, but he looks like he’s having a great time on the bag!

The booklet enclosed with the box explains that grilled corn is very popular in Japan and usually covered in soy sauce and butter. These chips smell and taste a lot like corn with butter, with a hint of soy sauce.

I’ve never tried soy sauce on my corn, but if these chips are anything to go by, it’s a very pleasant combination! I think if too much soy sauce is used it might be a different story, but a light amount would work just fine.

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

Calbee Plum Seaweed Chips

Ah, umeboshi. One of my least favorite Japanese delicacies.

Needless to say, I was concerned when I saw these in the box. I recall having some very strongly sour snacks in the past due to umeboshi.

Luckily, these potato chips don’t have too much plum powder on them, so the flavor isn’t very potent. I still think I’d prefer chips with just seaweed, but these weren’t nearly as bad as I thought they’d be.

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

The chips themselves are high quality, crispy, and not too greasy.

Rating: 4.5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

Umaiwa Cheese

These are corn puffs shaped like rings with cheese powder on them. The cheese powder is inspired by fondue, which is something I am very fond of.

The rings are well coated, with no bare spots. The powder is strong, somewhat sweet, and very cheesy.

These are REALLY tasty! My only complaint is that I wish the bag were bigger!!

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

Umaibo Teriyaki Burger

I don’t particularly know what a teriyaki burger tastes like, but this umaibo is very tasty and very teriyaki-like.

Umaibo, if you don’t know, is a long puffy corn snack that’s light and usually flavored with something savory. I believe TokyoTreat boxes usually have one in them, which is fine since I usually like them a decent bit.

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

(The package for the umaibo was very cute, too!)

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

Healthy Snacking Squishy Lemon Gummies

TokyoTreat includes a healthier snack in every box, and April’s was this gummy snack.

The gummies smell kind of strange when you first open them, but they taste just fine. The booklet says they contain fiber to help you remain full longer, but I can’t really say if that’s true or not since I had them with other things.

If you like the taste of lemon candy, sweet and somewhat tart, you’ll like these. They aren’t too hard to chew either, which I like.

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

Kyoro-chan’s Custard Pudding Snack

Does Kyoro-chan look familiar? He (or she, I don’t know) might, due to being the mascot for Choco ball, another Japanese snack.

These are not really like Choco ball, but they are nice. They’re light custard flavored candies that look like Easter eggs. They kind of remind me of malted milk balls a little bit, though the inside isn’t as crunchy.

They’re sweet and easy to just pop into your mouth!

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

Pakkuncho Disney Custard Pudding Biscuits

These are another custard treat, though they’re cookies instead of candy. They’re sweet, filled with a custardy cream, and they kind of remind me of Koala Yummies. Not a bad thing at all!

Each cookie has a Disney character or scene printed on them. I admit I don’t know what the one I took a picture of is, but it says ‘See you!’

And I think that’s an appropriate place to end this review! 🙂

Rating: 5/5

TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018
TokyoTreat Classic Review April 2018

VERDICT: I was very pleased with this box! Everything was delicious, even the potato chips (which were my least favorite.) I think I liked the Umaiwa Cheese the best, but the Caramel Corn was really nice too.

I’m looking forward to the next two boxes!

Interested in trying TokyoTreat out for yourself? A classic box, like what I have reviewed here, is available for $25 on TokyoTreat’s page.  A premium option is also available for a little more.