Skoshbox Review: September 2017

Skoshbox Review: September 2017

This month’s box arrived pretty much intact, and everything inside was safe and sound, thanks to the bag containing it all. (It’s a nice bag! Nicer than most grocery store’s bags around here, honestly.)

The bag was stuffed with six snacks and a bonus plush that I’ll talk about at the end of this post. Sadly, the little booklet containing information about what’s inside was gone and I was directed to their website, where the page had completely different snacks listed than what I received. My guess is that the list is of October’s box, which hasn’t shipped yet and was just pushed to be published too early. I don’t know for sure, though.

Since the website didn’t list the correct items, I had to research and find the snacks’ names and information on my own, which took some time. Unfortunately, I couldn’t seem to find many of the snacks on Tokyo Otaku Mode’s site to purchase directly, either. (I imagine it’s due to the shift over to snacks coming directly from Japan, as their site does say.)

On to the review…!

Cheese Kaki No Tane

Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Cheese Kaki No Tane
Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Cheese Kaki No Tane

First up are some cheese coated soy sauce crackers. I was hoping the cheese coating would be strong, but unfortunately it was very mild. The soy sauce flavor was strong, though, making the crackers pleasant after all. So, even though they weren’t what I expected, they were still nice. If you like soy sauce flavor, you’ll probably like these. (Unless you’re really sensitive to cheese, then perhaps not.)

Rating: 3/5

Seibutsu Zukan Sea Creature Gummies​

Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Seibutsu Zukan Sea Creature Gummies​
Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Seibutsu Zukan Sea Creature Gummies​

These gummies kind of frightened me at first, especially since I had no information about them when I opened up the box. I thought the squid on the package meant these were squid ink gummies and I really didn’t want to try them…

I would have though, if they were, for the sake of the review. I have to try everything at least a little bit!

Luckily, these gummies were just shaped like sea creatures and tasted like sweet stuff. Specifically, the blue ones were Ramune soda flavor, the brown were cola, and the yellow one was something sweet I couldn’t identify. All three flavors were tasty and the consistency of the gummies were very sticky, but not in an unpleasant way.

Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Seibutsu Zukan Sea Creature Gummies​
Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Seibutsu Zukan Sea Creature Gummies​

The shapes were SUPER cute, though, especially the whale!

Also included was a neat little fact card that I think was about a King Crab. Other cards in other boxes were most likely different, but of a sea creature nonetheless.

Rating: 5/5

Kyo-Machi Saryo

Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Kyo-Machi Saryo
Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Kyo-Machi Saryo

These were milky hard candies in three flavors: strawberry, matcha (green tea) and soy/honey. The matcha was not quite as strong as it is in candy sometimes, which was a plus for me since I personally get overwhelmed by it when it’s super potent.

The strawberry was sweet and pleasant, as expected.

The soy and honey candy was the best out of the bunch, surprising me with a flavor reminiscent of pancakes and maple syrup! I really liked this one, even if the flavor didn’t match the name.

Rating: 5/5

Karu Edamame: Edamame Flavor

Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Karu Edamame: Edamame Flavor
Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Karu Edamame: Edamame Flavor

This was probably one of the simpler snacks in the box — a basic edamame cracker stick covered in a salty and umami flavor. The sticks tasted like the bean and the coating added to the notes, making the snack taste and feel kind of healthy, in a way. I can’t really describe it any other way.

These were definitely enjoyable, but only if you enjoy the flavor of edamame.

Rating: 5/5

Hinyari Dango

Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Hinyari Dango
Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Hinyari Dango

These are sweet gummy spheres that look like dumplings. Dango is apparently a type of sweet dumpling in Japan.

Unfortunately, even though there were three of them in different colors, they all tasted the same to me. The sugary coating on them was just that, sugar, and the gummy part had little to no flavor. I feel like even if the sugar wasn’t there, the gummies would still be pretty weak.

It’s a shame, since they were really cute!

Rating: 2/5

Mille Feuille Bar

Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Mille Feuille Bar
Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Mille Feuille Bar

A mille feuille is a French pastry also known as a Napoleon. I’ve never had one, but they look very nice!

This bar was a replica of that in a more simplified form. The pastry on the top, middle, and bottom was flaky when I tried it (as you can kind of see in the picture there, apologies for the mess) and the custard was sweet. The chocolate on the very bottom was a nice touch, following up the pastry and custard and making the entire bar a delightful little dessert.

I don’t know how accurate of a representation this was to the real thing, but it was very nice nonetheless.

Rating: 5/5

Bonus Plush – Mameshi-Pamyu-Pamyu – Pamyu

Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Mameshi-Pamyu-Pamyu - Pamyu
Skoshbox Review: September 2017 Mameshi-Pamyu-Pamyu – Pamyu

As a nice little bonus, Skoshbox included a free little plush for everyone this month! At first I had no idea who or what this was, and I had to scrutinize Google translate to figure out something from the tag. I did, finally, discover the name of the plush and who it was based on.

The plush line is called Mameshiba, or bean dog. I thought it kind of looked like a bean! This specific one is called Pamyu Pamyu, based off of a Pop Princess in Japan. I never would have guessed all that on my own, that’s for sure!

I appreciated the cute freebie, though!

Purchase Mameshi Pamyu Pamyu on Otakumode.com

Verdict for September 2017: EXCELLENT! The weakest item was the Dango, but only because it tasted like just sugar. It wasn’t awful by any means. The amount of items in the box was very nice, and the plush was a cute bonus I really appreciated!

Check out Skoshbox’s page if you’re interested in trying out a subscription for yourself. It’s $12 a month for the basic box, which I receive, if you pay monthly.

Do you run a subscription box service? Would you like me to review one of them? I am always very glad to try out new boxes and tell the world about them! Please don’t hesitate to check out my About Me page and send me a message!

Leave a Comment