Skoshbox Review: October 2017

Skoshbox Review: October 2017

Even though it arrived a bit later than usual, October’s Skoshbox was packed with full sized snacks! The info page was no longer the main one on the website, but luckily October’s was archived and still available to view. Honestly, I don’t really like how early Skoshbox posts the box’s contents — November’s hasn’t even shipped out yet and they’re already announcing what’s inside! Takes away from the surprise. Plus, some customers won’t receive their box in time for the page to still be on the current month. I’m on the east coast and packages from Japan like to take their time getting to me sometimes. 🙁

Anyway, that’s enough talk about delivery times and Skoshbox’s website. Let’s move on to the actual review for October 2017’s box!

Gogo no Koucha Lemon Tea Cookie

Skoshbox Review October 2017
Skoshbox Review October 2017

These are sandwich cookies, kind of like Oreo’s but more refined. It’s hard to read on the box in the picture since I opened it, but there’s a cute little message:

“Afternoon tea has been drunk by the English ever since the custom was first started by the Duchess of Bedford in the mid 19th century.”

Educational! I don’t know if this is accurate or not, as I didn’t research it but it sounds right? Either way, it’s funny to see on the front of the box.

The cookies themselves are as you’d expect, but that’s not a problem. The cookie part (I should be saying biscuit, actually) is a shortbread type, not too crunchy nor too soft. They have a lemon flavor, as does the cream in between. The lemon flavor isn’t too strong, despite the two sources. I enjoyed these a lot.

Rating: 5/5

Scone Sour Cream Onion Flavor

Skoshbox Review October 2017
Skoshbox Review October 2017

I didn’t know what to expect from these before I tried them, but when I opened the pack I noticed that they look just like crunchy Cheetos.

Sure enough, they taste like them too! I don’t even know if Japan imports Cheetos from the United States at all (they probably do, a little bit) but these taste just like Cheetos without the cheese powder. The flavor on them is much like a standard Sour Cream and Onion chip, which surprisingly goes well with the Cheeto puff.

These are very nice, and they kind of make me wish Cheetos had a Sour Cream and Onion variety.

Rating: 5/5

Hi-Chew Seasonal Okayama White Peach

Skoshbox Review October 2017
Skoshbox Review October 2017

Hi-chew. We all know what they are by now, since they’re really popular in Japan. I’ve received them quite a few times in Skoshboxes, too, and I’m always pretty happy to see them.

These are white peach flavored, and even though I’ve never had a white peach I can imagine they’re quite similar to regular peaches. (Google tells me they’re sweeter. This candy is sweet, so I suppose that makes sense.)

These chews are sweet peach flavored. I can’t really verify if they’re white peach flavored due to my lack of experience with them, but they’re good. I like them; they have the standard chewy texture Hi-chew is known for, so there’s not much else to say.

Rating: 5/5

Mochitto Purin

Skoshbox Review October 2017
Skoshbox Review October 2017

This is a flan flavored mochi gummy. The texture is really soft and kind of unpleasant, honestly.

It’s a shame because sometimes I love mochi inspired treats, but other times they’re just too mushy for me. This was, unfortunately one of those times.

The taste is fine, it is reminiscent of flan and vanilla, but the texture is so soft! I could have popped them in the refrigerator but I wanted to try them as intended.

Rating: 1/5

Chisana Bakauke Nori Flavor

Skoshbox Review October 2017
Skoshbox Review October 2017

This is a simple rice cracker flavored with Nori (seaweed). They have a strong soy sauce taste to them as well, but it works with the seaweed.

The texture is crispy, but not too heavy. I liked these, but there isn’t a whole lot to say about them.

Rating: 5/5

Happy Nikukyu Gummies Grape Flavor

Skoshbox Review October 2017
Skoshbox Review October 2017

These are adorable little gummies shaped like cat’s paws. I love how they look; I love the bag, I love the fat kitty on the bag, I love how each paw is well formed, but….

The taste is really strong. Like, I’ve received quite a few grape flavored candies through the years via Skoshbox but none were quite as strong as these, and they also didn’t seem to have as much of a medicinal note to them as these do.

I’m not going to lie, I was disappointed in these little gummies due to how cute they were! Though, I do wonder if they came in other flavors, if they’d be nicer.

Rating: 2.5/5

Verdict for October 2017: EXCELLENT! I didn’t particularly love the Happy Nikukyu gummies or the Mochitto Purin, but everything else was amazing so the box still gets an excellent rating from me. 🙂 I really appreciated the large portion sizes!

Check out Skoshbox’s page if you’re interested in trying out a subscription for yourself. It’s $12 a month for the basic box, which I receive, if you pay monthly.

Do you run a subscription box service? Would you like me to review one of them? I am always very glad to try out new boxes and tell the world about them! Please don’t hesitate to check out my About Me page and send me a message!

Leave a Comment