Skoshbox February 2018 Review

Skoshbox Review: February 2018

Skoshbox Review: February 2018

As you have probably noticed, I didn’t write a Skoshbox review for a few months. I posted on my Twitter that I wasn’t feeling up to writing about November’s or December’s, due to holiday stress and such, but I fully intended on writing about January’s! Unfortunately, the box came very late (after the 20th) and two items were taken out of it by US customs due to having undeclared meat powder. That was a frustrating and disappointing experience, but thankfully February’s came with everything. (The box looked like a wreck though, and it didn’t come until the 17th.)

I wish I could write these sooner but they come very slowly to me! 🙁 Sorry about that!

The list of the items sent in this box is on Skoshbox’s official page.

 

 

Look A La Mode

Skoshbox February 2018 Review
Skoshbox February 2018 Review

These are chocolates filled with various flavored creme. The flavors are banana, almond, strawberry, and coffee. (I really liked the packaging and how clear it was which chocolate was which flavor.)

The banana ones are strong, and of a vaguely artificial flavor. This isn’t a problem for me, as I have a soft spot of fake banana flavor, but if you don’t really like that you probably wouldn’t enjoy them.

The almond chocolates are pretty much perfect; light, kind of airy creme with an almond flavor. I liked them a lot and I feel like they’re an ‘easy’ chocolate for anyone to snack on.

The strawberry chocolates are a lot like the banana, though a bit more mellow. Not much to say about them, but I liked them too.

The coffee ones were my favorite, by far, as they reminded me of my Japanese candy love, Coffee Beat. The creme is really reminiscent of a sweet latte and the chocolate complements it wonderfully.

These chocolates were consumed immediately after opening them!

Skoshbox February 2018 Review
Skoshbox February 2018 Review

Rating: 5/5

Comecco: Wasabi Nori Flavor

Skoshbox February 2018 Review
Skoshbox February 2018 Review

These are rice crackers with wasabi and nori (seaweed) flavoring. I don’t like wasabi, and neither does my boyfriend, but nori is fine.

These crackers aren’t as bad as I expected them to be. I only had one, and the wasabi flavoring wasn’t burning my mouth at all, but I could tell that if I had more my opinion probably would have changed.

The nori flavor is there, though somewhat masked by the wasabi. The texture of the cracker is nice and light, but the overall flavor profile is just not my thing.

If you like wasabi these might be for you, but even then, they might be too light for that.

Rating: 2/5

Fit’s White Cider Gum

Skoshbox February 2018 Review
Skoshbox February 2018 Review

This is a standard stick of gum with fruity flavor crystals inside. Unfortunately, I have TMJ disorder and it’s been pretty bad lately, so I really shouldn’t chew gum. My boyfriend had to try this one for me — he did like it, at least.

The cider flavor is very similar to ramune soda, which is a good thing. We both like ramune! The fruit crystals arent really noticeable, as the gum just tastes like ramune, but they added some color to it, anyway.

The flavor is overall sweet and pleasant.

Rating: 5/5

Omochi Nadeshiko Candy

Skoshbox February 2018 Review
Skoshbox February 2018 Review

These are supposed to be hard candies flavored like Japanese dishes and filled with a chewy center. I can’t read Japanese, and Skoshbox’s site didn’t say what the flavors were, so I had no idea what to expect.

The red and gold candies are sweet and delicious — I really enjoy both. The green, however, has a slight tang to it which I can’t really place. It ends up being sweet after a few seconds, but still not as sweet as the others. I definitely like it the least but it’s not bad.

The soft centers are softer than a Tootsie Roll but not completely goopy like some hard candies’ centers. I like the consistency.

Overall, these are pleasant but I wish I knew what dishes they were based off of! (Google Translate’s app couldn’t really pick up the kanji.)

Rating: 4/5

Toppo Milk Tea

Skoshbox February 2018 Review
Skoshbox February 2018 Review

These are cookie biscuits filled with a sweet milk and tea creme. They’re impressively accurate to the flavor they advertise!

I am more of a coffee fan than a tea fan but I still think these are very nice. The tea isn’t too strong, and the sweet milk complements the biscuit nicely.

I wonder how these would be dipped in hot tea? Probably quite tasty!

Rating: 5/5

Denroku Mame E Size

Skoshbox February 2018 Review
Skoshbox February 2018 Review

These are peanuts covered in a sweet and savory coating. The coating is mainly sweet to me, but that’s not a complaint at all.

The peanuts are, well, peanuts — simple and unsalted. The coating is hard, but not tooth-breaking, and somewhat reminiscent of Boston Baked Beans.

I like these a lot! I would buy them if they were available here and I wanted a sweet and peanutty snack.

Rating: 5/5

Verdict for February 2018: EXCELLENT! The only item I didn’t love was the wasabi rice crackers, but I don’t like wasabi so I’m biased. My boyfriend tried the gum for me and really enjoyed it, so everything else was a success! This box was well worth $12. 🙂

Check out Skoshbox’s page if you’re interested in trying out a subscription for yourself. It’s $12 a month for the basic box, which I receive, if you pay monthly.

Do you run a subscription box service? Would you like me to review one of them? I am always very glad to try out new boxes and tell the world about them! Please don’t hesitate to check out my About Me page and send me a message!