MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review

MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review

In keeping up with the subscription box reviews, I’ve decided to pick up one box from a different service once in a while to write about! It’ll keep things interesting here, to say the least.

This month, I went for MyJapanBox. Seeing as how they have an entire One Time Box page, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to pick a box and go for it. Since I recently caught up on the One Piece manga (and since there’s no JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure box) I went for the box featuring goodies from the series.

(Note: If any pictures are JPEGgy, click them to make them bigger and clearer!)

MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review
MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review

The box came by DHL, which I’ve never actually used before. It arrived a bit faster than the Skoshbox shipments do, so no complaints there.

The actual box was not anything special — no MyJapanBox logo, no One Piece markings, just a plain box. This wasn’t a problem or anything, but I was so used to Skoshbox and Lootcrate’s loud boxes that I was kind of surprised by this one.

Inside the box, however, were some interesting, and not plain things!

One Piece Wanted Poster Cloth Tote Bag

MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review
MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review

This bag is cute! It’s not super big, but it’s big enough for carrying simple necessities or lunch. It doesn’t close at all, so I wouldn’t use it as a purse. I’ll find some use for it though, I’m sure.

The print is all over the front and features the updated Wanted Posters for the Straw Hats. There are some compartments inside, but I didn’t deem it necessary to take a picture.

The bag feels like it’s made of a nice, thick cotton blend and it would probably survive a wash in the washing machine if needed.

Price estimate: $18-25

The bag is on Amazon right now if you’re interested in one, too!

Kanesho Pottery One Piece “Great Ships” Mug

MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review
MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review
MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review
MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review

This mug is hefty! It’s heavier than most of the mugs I already own, which is pretty impressive. The Straw Hats Skull and Crossbones is engraved into the ceramic with an interestingly rough kind of feel. It’s cool, and I think it’ll last a while without chipping or fading.

Price estimate: $20

I actually found this same mug on Amazon without even intending to. (I was looking up a different mug and the seller had this one as well.)

Pocket Tissue Pack

MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review
MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review

I’m assuming this is a little freebie, but it’s cute anyway. The front is shown on the main image of this post, but if you don’t feel like scrolling back up it has Law, Luffy, and Sabo. The tissues themselves appear to have a cute pattern on them, but I didn’t open the pack to find out. These will go nicely in my purse!

Price estimate: Who knows, it’s just a little tissue pack!

Trafalgar Law Master Stars Piece Figure

Here’s the ‘star’ of the box! (I didn’t do that on purpose, I swear.) The slightly taller than 10″ Trafalgar Law Master Stars Piece figure is impressively detailed and pretty hefty.

MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review
MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review

He comes with his sword, his upper and lower half, and his sword’s hilt and its top piece. When assembled (which was easy to do) he looks like this:

MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review
MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review

Pretty cool, huh? Law isn’t my favorite character, but I do like him. I’m glad I received a figure of a character I like and not a really minor villain or something.

MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review
MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review

The only downside to this guy is the lack of a stand. He doesn’t even have a tiny prize figure stand, or anything like that. Since he’s fairly heavy, he can and will fall over, so leaning him against something is advised. As you can see, I had to use his box for support for these pictures.

MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review
MyJapanBox One Piece October 2017 Review

The plastic used for him isn’t as shiny as the type used for most prize figures I’ve encountered, which is a plus. I think the Master Stars Piece line is very high quality for what it is, based off of Law here, and I’d be glad to pick up any others I really like the look of.

He’s available on Amazon!

Price estimate: $25-$30

Rose and Black Tea KitKats

I didn’t take any pictures of this, because I am pretty sure they were a freebie unrelated to the box’s theme. I found out that these were rose and black tea flavored and they were pretty nice, but melted into oblivion by the time I received them. Oh well!

FINAL VERDICT: This box was a good deal and a fun little selection of One Piece merchandise! I liked everything in it, and I would consider a monthly subscription if I didn’t have too much anime stuff already. 😛 The Law figure was definitely the star of the box, but the mug and bag were very nice too!

Check out MyJapanBox’s One Piece page if you’re interested in trying out a subscription for yourself. It’s $49 a month for the basic box, which is what I received, if you pay monthly. If you’d like to purchase just one box, the cost is $55 and you can order one on the One Time Box page here.

Do you run a subscription box service? Would you like me to review one of them? I am always very glad to try out new boxes and tell the world about them! Please don’t hesitate to check out my About Me page and send me a message!

Leave a Comment